Twice The Book Twice The Review

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18189606-since-you-ve-been-gone?ac=1&from_search=trueAuthor: Morgan Matson

Publisher:  Simon & Schuster

Genre: YA Contemporary, YA Fiction

Pages: 464

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Um…

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?

My Thoughts:

This was the epitome of a Summery Contemporary. It had dares, adventure, something incredibly fresh and new. This was also my first Morgan Matson book. There was a lot of character growth going on throughout the book. Not only for Emily (the main character) but also for the supporting characters. By the end of the book Emily is almost a completely different person. She has a confidence that was never there, she has new friends and a new understanding of life in general. I feel like she matured a lot. Frank, Matt and Dawn also grow in their own ways. Frank, I feel, finds his voice. He kind of starts to do what makes him happy instead of just doing what’s expected of him. Matt becomes a little bit more brave, showing off a side of him that is more real. It was actually really cute. I love his character growth. I would have liked to have seen Dawn grow a little bit more. Especially after how much Emily was there for her.

133

All in all the writing wasn’t too bad but it wasn’t anything impressive either. I was not satisfied with the ending. There were a few loose ends that never got tied up. Maybe that’s the point, to kind of leave you guessing. To make you think about the book even after it’s ended.
What I didn’t like was the tone of the book. It was a little dry, a little boring. While the concept was fun and perfect for summer, the execution was very poor for my taste. I didn’t really like it.

Recommend?

Only if you’re looking for something Summery and you can’t really find anything else. If you’re looking for something more upbeat and mature, then no.

Rating:

This book felt like a 2 star for me. I didn’t like it, I didn’t hate it. I’ve read worse books. I had such high expectations for this and I was greatly disappointed. The dares saved the book from a single star.

                             7c629b43d19c572bd68e7a74753d341a7c629b43d19c572bd68e7a74753d341a

17234659.jpgAuthor: Claudia Gray

Publisher: Harper Teen

Genre: YA, Sci-Fi, Fiction, Romance

Pages: 424

Ever since she used the Firebird, her parents’ invention, to cross into alternate dimensions, Marguerite has caught the attention of enemies who will do anything to force her into helping them dominate the multiverse—even hurting the people she loves. She resists until her boyfriend, Paul, is attacked and his consciousness scattered across multiple dimensions.

Marguerite has no choice but to search for each splinter of Paul’s soul. The hunt sends her racing through a war-torn San Francisco, the criminal underworld of New York City, and a glittering Paris where another Marguerite hides a shocking secret. Each world brings Marguerite one step closer to rescuing Paul. But with each trial she faces, she begins to question the destiny she thought they shared.

My Thoughts:

Yeeeees! I can’t tell you how excited I was to finally get this book. I fell head over heels for the first book. This is the second book in the Firebird Triology. Like the first, we are immediately thrust into traveling through dimensions. However unlike the first book this one was a lot more dark. More serious and more focused on the consequences of what happened the first time we went to other dimensions. When Conley threatens Paul’s life Marguerite doesn’t hesitate for a second to go after him. She is incredibly determined and she’ll stop at nothing to get him back. The best part is that she’s not doing it alone this time. Love that.
There was so much more to learn about everything! I saw so many different sides to all of my favorite characters. Paul wasn’t always the charming knight I pictured him as, which I really like actually. It made him more real, more tangible somehow. Theo was actually really sweet! There were a few moments that we lept into an uncomfortable situation, so much that it made me flush with embarrassment.
Triadverse shines a lot more light in this story. Answering as many questions as it keeps producing. One thing I will say is that I did NOT see Conley and ***** being a thing. CrAzY!
What Minions.gifGray once again captivated me with every bit of the world’s she built. Hands down the Russiaverse is my favorite dimension ❤ Right along side Marguerite’s home verse. It was comforting and exciting to go back there again. What happened was just, whoa! Ahh so many reactions. Through every chapter! The ending was by far one of the most epic cliff hangers I have read. I can not wait to get the third one!

Recommend?

YES! I recommend both A Thousand Pieces of You and Ten Thousand Skies Above You. For anyone who loves the idea of the multiverse and traveling through them. Also anyone who is looking to have a prodigious adventure 😉

Rating:

7c629b43d19c572bd68e7a74753d341a7c629b43d19c572bd68e7a74753d341a7c629b43d19c572bd68e7a74753d341a7c629b43d19c572bd68e7a74753d341a

For how much love I have for this book I just couldn’t give it the full 5 stars. Incredible as the journey was, there were many things that felt repetitive. I would have liked to have learned more about the Triadverse and about Conley. It was fun and exhilarating going after Paul. However it felt way too similar to what we experienced in the first book. Only darker. More violent. Hopefully that’s what we see in the next book. Especially since that ending left me with so many questions.

Happy-Reading

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mei-Mei says:

    I also thought TTSAY was darker than the first book. I liked how the author was exploring the other aspects and consequences of dimensional travel, but the tonal shift threw me off to the degree that I DNFed. Maybe I’ll go back when I’m in the mood for something darker.

Leave a Reply

