Goodreads Monday

Goodreads Monday is a weekly meme hosted by Lauren, check out her blog over at Lauren’s Page Turners!

I love participating in this meme, I only recently started. It’s very simple 😉 if you wanna join in on the fun simply choose (at random) any book on your TBR. Then share it with us! You can post a picture and link to the book or author, you can add the blurb or your own little synopsis about the book. You can even add why you’re so excited to read it! It’s totally up to you. Don’t forget to link back to Lauren’s page so everyone can check out your post.

This week I chose……..

20643052.jpg

In an exhilarating new series, New York Times bestselling author Rachel Caine rewrites history, creating a dangerous world where the Great Library of Alexandria has survived the test of time.…

Ruthless and supremely powerful, the Great Library is now a presence in every major city, governing the flow of knowledge to the masses. Alchemy allows the Library to deliver the content of the greatest works of history instantly—but the personal ownership of books is expressly forbidden.

Jess Brightwell believes in the value of the Library, but the majority of his knowledge comes from illegal books obtained by his family, who are involved in the thriving black market. Jess has been sent to be his family’s spy, but his loyalties are tested in the final months of his training to enter the Library’s service.

When his friend inadvertently commits heresy by creating a device that could change the world, Jess discovers that those who control the Great Library believe that knowledge is more valuable than any human life—and soon both heretics and books will burn…

I’ve noticed there are a lot of books revolving around magical Libraries. It sounds incredible. A world where owning a book is illegal??? Well I would clearly be going to jail………who’s with me?

Related image

Have you heard of this book or read it? Let me know what your thoughts are 🙂

7 Comments Add yours

  1. daleydowning says:

    I haven’t read this one — I’ve read a few reviews, and I picked it up and skimmed through it a little at the library. There does seem to be a lot of new series focusing on this concept!

    1. I put this on my Goodreads TBR a long time ago and forgot about it. But yes, lately I seem to come across a lot of books revolving around this.
      How were the reviews? I haven’t checked them yet.

      1. daleydowning says:

        Most of them were positive. Apparently the author has already written a lot of other stuff (guess I’m kind of lame, as I’d never heard of her), so she had a big fanbase to start with, but I got the idea people liked it, although it was a departure from her “regular” publications. (Again, I have no frame of reference!)

      2. I’ve read her Morganville Vampire series, but that was way back in High School. Never finished it because it got so long. The books I did read were pretty amazing though. You’re not lame at all! I completely forgot her, now that’s lame.
        Good to know the bar for this book isn’t set too high. Sounds like it’s just high enough. Also nice to know it won’t be about Vampires.

  2. lry93 says:

    I have this on my tbr as well and I have seen everyone raving about it!! So I’m really looking forward to getting a copy some time 🙂 hope you enjoy this when you get to it 🙂

    1. Thank you! I’ll be sure to let you know how I liked it 🙂

  3. The concept is great and I’d definitely go to jail too hahaha
    Hope you enjoy the book 🙂

Leave a Reply

