The Alienation of Courtney Hoffman Book Review

courtney-hoffmanAuthor: Brady G. Stefani

Publisher: Spark Press

Genre: YA, Sci-Fi

Pages: 282

Fifteen year old Courtney wants to be normal like her friends. But there’s something frighteningly different about her—and it’s not just the mysterious tattoo her conspiracy-obsessed grandfather marked her with before he disappeared. She’s being visited in her bedroom at night by aliens claiming to have shared an alliance with her grandfather. And imaginary or not, they’re starting to to take over her mind. “Mental illness is a slippery slope,” her mother warns her.

The last thing Courtney wants to do is end up crazy and dead like her grandfather did. But what about the tattoo? And the aliens trying to recruit her? With her new alien-savvy friend Agatha and her apocalyptic visions, Courtney begins connecting the dots between the past, present and future—of her bloodline, and the ancient history that surrounds it. Is she going insane, like her family claims her grandfather did, or is she actually a “chosen one” with ancestral connections to another world? Either way, Courtney has a mission: untangle her past, discover the truth, and stop the apocalypse before it’s too late for everyone.”

My Thoughts:

……………………Soooo, this was a DNF for me. I tried really hard to finish this. The premise sounds so promising. I actually thought this was going to be a book about mental illness. Nope. It wasn’t. I got about halfway? So I’d say that’s a pretty good effort. Unfortunately there came a point where I was just dreading picking this up and realized it was time to call it quits. 
If you go to the Goodreads page for this you’ll see that a lot of people enjoyed this book. It has so many 5 and 4 star ratings! So it would appear that I’m one of the very select few who did not enjoy it. Let me tell you why………..

Courtney, while 15, acted more like she was in middle school. To her credit she does very much want to get help. The way that she pursues this notion is ridiculous. She recklessly goes to a doctor who does his research in the basement of a rundown building. Where he drugs her and does who know what while she’s out. Courtney doesn’t even tell anyone that she’s there. Also she almost freaking goes back!!!……..WTF!? 
As if that’s not bad enough she puts her trust in someone she met at a Psychiatric Hospital. Together they seek out some bar in the middle of whereversville. I mean Courtney just up and leaves, once again without telling a single other person where she’s going or who she’s with. 


Courtney’s mom is a total and utter bitch. Seriously. At no point does she show any support for her own daughter. She has Courtney committed to a hospital because she basically can’t deal with her. She’s convinced that Courtney is doing this all for attention and will eventually corrupt her youngest daughter. The author wrote her with basically no maternal instincts. It certainly made for some good old fashioned frustration. 

I could not get through this. Maybe if the author had picked one theme to go with I could have committed to at least fishing the book. It’s hard to say really where this was even going. First the main character is going crazy, no wait she’s actually seeing real Aliens, no wait there’s a God conspiracy and apparently whatever this is is in Courtney’s blood. Oh oh! Let’s not forget the impending apocalypse that has to be stopped.


I’m sorry……..what??? 90 percent of the time I was not only confused but very frustrated with the character. Which just led to my being annoyed with the whole book.
Honestly I don’t know what it would take to save this book for me. There’s a good chance that it’s just me. Not my cup of tea and all that. I like sci-fi as much as the next person. I also like reading/watching anything about mental health. You say the word conspiracy and you’ve got my attention for at least 12 hours easy. All of this could make for one hell of a story, if only directed a little be more neatly.
I actually feel really bad about not enjoying this book 😦 Especially since the author was so kind as to give me an audio version of it.
Unfortunately I’m going to have to give this a 1 out of 5 stars.

7c629b43d19c572bd68e7a74753d341a

Recommend?

………not to a single person that I personally know. However, to my readers I say yes. For the most part this book got pretty good reviews. If you like a lot of ideas being thrown at you with little to no real detail at all, then go for it! Heck I hear there’s even a sequel on the way *cringes.* I will always encourage my readers to try a book out for themselves. You just never know, you might fall in love with it and change my mind about giving it another chance.

*I received a copy of this book from the author courtesy of YA Bound Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. And honest it was……*

Leave a Reply

