Of Fire and Stars Book Review

25164304Author: Audrey Coulthurst

Publisher: Balzer + Bay

Genre: YA, LGBT, Fantasy

Pages: 389

Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile lands. But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire—a dangerous gift for the future queen of a kingdom where magic is forbidden.

Now, Denna must learn the ways of her new home while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria’s formidable warhorses—and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine—called Mare—the sister of her betrothed.

When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two become closer, Mare is surprised by Denna’s intelligence and bravery, while Denna is drawn to Mare’s independent streak. And soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more.

But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms—and each other.”

This is the first OwlCrate book that I have read, yet it’s from the third box that I received. How did that happen? Well because of that plot line of course!!!! ❤ A Princess who falls in love with……….the Princess!? Uhm, yeess! In a previous post I said that it was my very first LGBT book. Well that may not have been accurate, I forgot I had read one before that in October. Pretty close though, it’s only my second 🙂

My Thoughts:

I really enjoyed the idea behind this book. Princess Dennaleia who is sweet and very innocent, falls for the ever trouble making Princess Amaranthine (Mare) who’s attitude could use some serious readjusting. It’s your classic “opposite’s attract” type of romance.
Both characters undergo some serious personality changes by the end of the book. One finds her voice and strength while the other finds her heart is a little softer than she realized. There is also a very strong message about having to hide who you are in order to save face for those that you care about.

This story had some incredible potential. Unfortunately, it just didn’t utilize that. Everything is in the right place. The magic, the prejudice, the romance even the need for ones freedom to just be themselves. Oh and of course the action and mystery. Heck even the writing is great! The author made it really easy to read the book. It was just so…….predictable.

d5d21b7
I literally had everything figured out by the time I got halfway through the book. Well all the major points of the story anyway. Which completely ruined any surprise for me.  There were minor details that slipped past me but mostly because I was already turned off of the book by then. I finished it, but only out of obligation. I had already dedicated my time to reading it so why not see it through you know?

It was all too easy to pin point who the antagonist was, where the romance was headed, who would and wouldn’t be on their side. There was a serious lack of “wow” to this book and it brought nothing new to the table at all.
I also didn’t feel the love between Denna and Mare. I wanted too. I was rooting for them the entire time! Unfortunately there was no connection to any of the characters or even the story itself.
When it ended I wasn’t sad. Am I interested in what happens next?

41398-emma-stone-shrug-gif-ck4y
Sure why not. I don’t think I’ll be sitting at the edge of my seat, marking down the days or rushing out to the stores when the next one comes out though. I still have some high hopes though. Again there’s just SO MUCH POTENTIAL! It kills me to see it not realized.

Recommend?
Ya ok. Read it, try it out, see what you think for yourself. It’s really not a bad book or story line, it’s just not new. Hey some folks like that though. It’s comforting. Plus it has magic, magic is always a crowd pleaser 🙂

My Rating:

7c629b43d19c572bd68e7a74753d341a7c629b43d19c572bd68e7a74753d341a7c629b43d19c572bd68e7a74753d341a

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Great review. I havent read this one yet but I know theres a lot of hype around it so it’s refreshing to see a 3 star review

    1. Thank you 🙂 it’s really not a bad book. It’s just familiar. I hope you read it!

  2. I completely agree with you. It was not wonderful, nor awful.

Leave a Reply

