Got A Secret Can You Keep It?

Hey there stranger dangers! Long time no talk.
Happy Friday 😉 ALREADY the first week of the new year is done. How many of you have already started on those New Years resolutions? How many of you haven’t started? My hand is way up in the air right now. Although this time around I decided to make my resolutions very short and very realistic.

  • Save more………no really. SAVE MORE. I mean it this time.
  • Read more.
  • Blog more, but only because you want to. Stop when it becomes an obligation, then come back.
  • Keep in better touch with family and give more time to your friends ❤ because they deserve it.
  • Drink less soda but more water.

y003o_s-200x150Typically my list of New Years Resolutions is sky high and full of nearly impossible things to complete in a year, let alone a lifetime. I’m very satisfied with my short list and feel as though it’s completely achievable. I feel infinitely better about this and totally pumped to get it all done by this time in 2018.

Aside from that there is something I really really wanted to share with you guys. So about three months ago I finally buckled down and subscribed  to Owlcrate. For those of you who don’t know Owlcrate is one of, if not the best book subscription boxes out there. Every month is themed something different and the box contains one newly released YA book along with cute nick knacks. These can range from a beanie, pins, a funko pop or even tea!

Now here’s the not so secret, secret. About a month ago I came across The Owlcrate Society Page on Facebook! 🙂 Best. Page. Ever. The “secret” is that it’s a closed group, so you have to ask or be invited to join. BUT it doesn’t even matter if you’re subscribed to the box, though I think it may be kind of preferred, you can totally join. All you need is an interest in books and vuala! Heck there are even people on here who talk about other book box subscriptions. I love this page. There are no spoilers about the boxes at all, though everyone joins together and voices ideas on what might be inside. Everyone is EXTREMELY friendly. If you’re looking for some book suggestions, book news, fun bookish posts with pictures to read then this is definitely the page for you. Trust me when I say you’ll get addicted.
There are even fun things to participate in such as pen pals, card exchanges for holidays, giveaways (because who doesn’t love those), book hauls etc. You name it they’ve got it. Also there are some really awesome DIY ideas! Like this one………….

il_340x270-1035972235_1qde

A TBR jar! It’s super easy to make this and costs basically nothing. Seriously. I used an old candle jar to put my stars in. I get candles all the time, wondering what on earth to do with the jar afterwards. Throwing it away feels like a waste so I just melted the wax like this…….

  1. Fill small pot (big enough to hold candle jar) with about a cup of water.
  2. Boil the water.
  3. Place jar in boiling water (opening facing up of course) and watch as the wax melts.
  4. Using pot holders (so as not to burn yourself) remove the jar and empty the wax (into a tin or whatever you like).
  5. Wash the empty candle jar .

Then I dried the jar and started making stars like this…..

It’s incredibly easy and so much fun guys. If you have a large TBR, often find yourself wondering what to read next and are looking for a fun way to start narrowing that down then trust me when I say you have to try it! You could also do anything you want to the jar. Add some ribbon or glitter glue or heck even glue on some cute little cupcake erasers to the lid. The sky is the limit!

Well I just thought I would share that with you guys 🙂 check out the OCS on Facebook. You’ve got nothing to lose and so much to gain. Tons of stuff like this. It’s a really fun community. Much like WordPress here 🙂

I couldn’t link directly to the page because it’s a closed group. So I attached a link to my page, where I shared the group on a post 🙂 I figure that’s the next closest thing. Turns out you can’t even Google it, that’s how secret it is 😉

3 thoughts on “Got A Secret Can You Keep It?

  1. daleydowning says:

    Glad to see you back! 🙂

    These are some great ideas! Especially for those of us on a budget who could really do with “re-purposing” things we already have, instead of buying something new. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

