A Court of Thorns and Roses Book Review

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens 77493_original

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: New Adult, Fantasy

Pages: 416

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Typically I don’t like books about faeries. Oh don’t get me wrong. Growing up I LOVED fairy tales. Princesses, Princes, magical kingdoms, glass slippers and magic carpet rides! Tinker Bell and Neverland always held a special place in my heart. When I grew up I sort of shifted from Tink and pixie dust to kick butt vampires and magic wands.
The whole world of Fae just doesn’t seem as badass anymore……..or so I thought!
I totally gave into the hype when I got this book. I wanted to be in on the huge circle that is Sarah J. Maas’s fandom. I needed to see what the big deal was about her writing. Plus that cover ❤
Well I found out what everyone was going on about. Sarah J Mass. Is. Fan. Tastic!

The first thing that gripped me about this book was the world building. It was amazing! It was just intricate enough that it wasn’t over whelming. Not only that, I never felt lost for a second. It was really easy to pin point the details that were Beauty and the Beast reflections. However it was clear that there was so much more intertwined from other fairy tale stories. Maas completely took the idea of a retelling and made it her 100% her own.
h14u4g
The romance was not expected. I mean of course there was bound to be some kind of relationship between Feyre and Tamlin (again Belle and Beast). Keep in mind I didn’t look at any reviews of this book, nor did I read anything else about it but the blurb. When Maas started describing uhm……relations between our two main characters I freaked out! I thought it was a YA book! “How is this for teenagers???” Imagine how silly I felt when I realized it’s actually New Adult. So, not only is this the first Sarah J Maas book I’ve read, it’s also the first NA book I’ve read. Two birds with one stone look at that.

The character development was just as amazing as the world building. The characters were well rounded from the beginning of each introduction. Unfortunately with Feyre (Fay-rah), our main character, I felt that there was no real connection. She felt cliche, predictable and like she lacked depth. She actually reminds me of Katniss (except Katniss I loved). She obviously cares a great deal for her family and goes to great lengths to make sure they are going to survive through the next day. As I said they are pretty s*** poor. Feyre actually, get this, goes to the woods with her bow and arrow…..and hunts for food. Her obvious skill being archery. Very Katniss Everdeen. Just as Katniss hated the Capitol and held such strong prejudice against those who lived there, Feyre hates Prythian and all of the Faerie Court.
I do have to say that out of all of the characters in this book, she’s the one who grows the most. She changes, so much that by the end of the book she’s a different person entirely. Feyre becomes very compassionate. It’s pretty fantastic the way Sarah wrote her.

c2499daa0e52bcd589ecbc516d654db1
Tamlin is a beast! Literally and figuratively. He’s a high Fae that transforms into a giant wolf and has great power. Tamlin, as high lord of the Spring Court, carries a lot of weight on his shoulders. Burdened with a curse placed upon him and his entire court Tamlin pours his heart into their protection. He’s empathetic, compassionate and nothing like the selfish prince in the beginning of Beauty and the Beast. He’s also very thoughtful, putting Feyre’s needs and the needs of other faeries before his own. His determination to break the curse is more for the sake of those who were affected by it than for himself.

Amarantha the antagonist of this retelling, was a very very well written villain. Evil to the core she’s ruthless in her torture and hatred of the human kind. Her backstory isn’t discovered until near the end of the book but you learn enough to understand why it is she harbors so much resentment towards humans. I actually really liked her character. I liked that she was exactly who everyone in the book said she was.

A couple of other characters worth mentioning are;
Rhysand (ree-sand) – Think of him as a sort of Daemon character. A bad guy who does the right thing every now again. Though he’s still very selfish and does’t really care about that.
Nesta – This is Feyre’s sister and quite frankly she’s a huge b****. While she sort of redeems herself at the end I still can’t appreciate her. I didn’t like her at all. tumblr_nm5de5smdk1u0il5ao1_540
Lucien!!!

Needless to say guys that I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book. I’m dying to know what blank blanked at the very end. If you haven’t jumped on this bandwagon it’s not too late! I got my book on BarnesandNoble.com. Look for coupons guys, they help a lot! Plus you can get a really nice hard cover for like 12 bucks vs the 20 something you would pay in store. It’s true.
A solid 4 out of 5 for me!

7c629b43d19c572bd68e7a74753d341a7c629b43d19c572bd68e7a74753d341a7c629b43d19c572bd68e7a74753d341a7c629b43d19c572bd68e7a74753d341a7c629b43d19c572bd68e7a74753d341a

7 Comments Add yours

    1. Thank you! I really liked this book too 🙂

  1. daleydowning says:

    For some reason, this one didn’t do it for me – but I think it’s because I don’t like NA. I did really appreciate Maas’ storytelling and ideas and the way she didn’t stick to all the cliches about the characters. She isn’t afraid to break out of the box, and I think for a lot of people that really hooks them.

    1. That’s understandable. It’s how I feel about any Romance books. In my mind I already have a bad opinion about it.
      Yes! I’m really beginning to see why everyone is so excited for her writing. It definitely feels different from other books I have read before.
      Although Feyre did feel a little cliche. She sounded very much like a recycled character (Katniss).

      1. daleydowning says:

        Yeah, I had Feyre penned for a Katniss-wanna-be within 2 pages as well! The interesting premise, though, is what a character like that could become. I’m glad to hear the author did take her narrator through that growth process. But I just wasn’t prepared to slog through the parts that just really turn me off in any book. It’s a personal preference. But it also concerns me as a parent, because the idea of my 13-year-old accidentally reading something like this in a book marked YA when it should be in the adult section really bothers me.

  2. Omg I just finished reading this book! It was a bit slow going in due to the world building and the romance development but the last 100 pages or so were just 😱😱😱 I flew through the book in the end!! I do agree with you with Feyre. I wasn’t a huge fan of her in the beginning and she did remind me of Katniss too. But her character does grow by the end of the book which is great to see 😊 And this was my first NA book too lol I can’t wait to read the next one!! 📚

    1. Oh I’m so glad you liked it! Yes it definitely did pick up rather quickly towards the end. Would you believe I still haven’t read ACOMAF yet? If you get to it before I do you must must must tell me how it was! 🙂

Leave a Reply

