What Are You Reading Wednesday

This is my third…….fourth? Post for the week. Sheesh! It sure feels good to be on a roll 🙂   Last week I finished A Court of Thorns and Roses. I’m currently working on the review that should be up late tomorrow. Small spoiler from the review, I really loved the book!

This week I got some awesome book mail. Be honest with me guys, the sight of a package with a book shaped prize inside makes your stomach flip with excitement and before you know it you’re smiling from ear to ear! Well that was me just yesterday. Right on time to start reading a new book for the week 😉

Flip the Bird by Kym Brunner

flip-the-bird-kym-brunner

“Mercer Buddie wants two things in this world: a girlfriend and the chance to prove to his master falconer father that he’s not a flake. With hunting season fast approaching, fourteen-year-old Mercer has only a short time to work with Flip, a red-tailed hawk he irreverently named to show his dad that falconers don’t have to be so serious all the time.
When Mercer meets Lucy, he falls hard for her gorgeous looks and bubbly personality. He thinks his love life is about to take flight, until he discovers that Lucy and her family belong to a fanatical animal-rights organization called HALT—a group that believes imposing any sort of restrictions on animals is a form of cruelty. Mercer soon realizes that if he wants to keep seeing Lucy, he’ll need to keep his love of falconry and his family’s raptor rehabilitation center a secret from her, and Lucy’s involvement with HALT from his family.
With humor and honesty, Mercer’s story shows how growing up means making difficult choices…and sometimes, being rewarded in unexpected ways.”

I think it’s going to be refreshing to read something other than Fantasy. I love Fantasy, it is hands down my go to genre. Some days though, you just need something a little different 😉 plus I’ve read the first couple chapters and already this book is pretty funny.

What are you reading this week?

6 thoughts on “What Are You Reading Wednesday

      • optimisticdreamtraveler says:

        No, I haven’t finished it yet. It is great! Start it, and you will not regret reading it. Yes, it is long indeed, but I will finish it by next month. I will tell you how it was. No, I haven’t read Outlander. What is it about?

      • itsmisselizabeth says:

        I will definitely have to start it someday 🙂 and when I do I will let you know. I’m really glad you’re loving it!
        Outlander is about an English woman who visits Scotland with her husband. They visit a historical place and she winds up traveling through time! Now she’s stuck there! The story is all about her trying to get back and about World War II.
        It’s a very good plot. Don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

