What Are You Reading Wednesday

Hey guys!
So quick update. I’m finally making a dent in FanGirl. After what, three weeks? (and the embarrassment just keeps rolling off of me!) I actually decided “screw you life! I’m gonna read my darn book.” So that’s exactly what I did 🙂

Currently I’m on chapter 17 (embarrassed emoji). For those of you who have already read the book all I’m going to say is that I finished the chapter on Levi’s party and UGH!  I don’t want to give too much away but I have to vent a little!
What is going on??? What is Levi thinking? You can’t invite someone to a party, then do a certain something and act all nonchalant about it later! He’s supposed to be the upperclassman! With apparently very little class.
Firstly, whoa. Cath is not who I thought she would be. She’s a lot more pathetic actually. I can’t relate to her very much. There are moments I just don’t understand. How can someone be that anti-social. It bothers me a little bit. Of course this is clearly a coming of age book and Cath is just learning how to do things on her own, without Wren by her side to coddle her through all of it. Which brings me to my next point.

Secondly, I’m pretty disappointed in Wren. I understand the need for independence especially when you’ve grown up with someone and literally shared everything your entire life. I mean she’s a twin!

AR-150619838

(I always wanted a twin. A built in best friend for life? Uhm yes!) I get the need to be your own person, apart from just “the twin sister.” That doesn’t mean you can flip a bitch switch. Wren is acting like a completely different person. She’s starting tick me off a little bit and she’s not even my sister! I really hope she grows out of it by the end of the book.

Thirdly and finally. Does Simon Snow’s story remind anyone else of Harry Potter?? I’m not sure if that’s what the author was going for here. The snippets of the Simon Snow stories feel as if I’m flipping through the Harry Potter books. Granted there was never any mention of vampires or merwolves at Hogwarts. Somethings are quite obviously different, other times it’s like a rewritten scene right out of J.K. Rowlings writings. There are even little diamond shaped stars on the pages! The dialogue between Simon and the “Mage” (pretty much head master of the school) reads like Dumbledore and Harry in my head.

Image result for harry and dumbledore tumblr
Last but not least I just wanted to say that I finally understand the meaning of this….

Image result for FanGirl hardcover barnes and noble edition
The cup with Cath’s name on the front of my hardcover. Of course now I want a Starbucks cup with my name on it. Especially with the Holiday’s coming up!

Well guys that’s as far as I’ve gotten in the book. Again I’m feeling loads of shame that it is taking me a month to finish this 😦 ohhh life, why must you constantly get in the way of books?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. daleydowning says:

    I’ll be starting Fangirl pretty soon… It’s on the list in my head of “15,000 bloggers have said you must read this”, so hopefully it goes well for me. 🙂

    1. hehe. Don’t we all have a TBR like that? I don’t think you’re alone. Half of the books on my TBR I don’t even own yet.
      If you do pick up FanGirl I hope you like it! It’s pretty good so far, but also pretty frustrating.

      1. daleydowning says:

        I’ve heard mixed reviews about it. I tried “Carry On” by R.Rowell and did not like it at all – DNF. Apparently Fangirl is her one, like, really amazing book. Hopefully…

Leave a Reply

