Top Ten Tuesdays

It’s Tuesday!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme that was created by The Broke and Bookish. Each week is something different but equally fun 😉 so head on over and check it out!
This week’s theme is Back To School Freebie — I decided to go with top ten books that would be on my classroom shelf if I were a teacher……

  1. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer.
    lunar-chronicles-by-marissa-meyer
    Other than the obvious epic adventure’s and fairy tale retelling’s, this book also has a lot to say about segregation and prejudices of lower class society. If I had a book like this to read in school homework would have been done in advance!
  2. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.
    tumblr_mww7iho4xf1qdbltwo1_500
    Again obvious, Nazis Germany. I also like that it promotes creativity and bravery. Let’s not forget survival. After everything that Liesel endured she trudged on, if only to tell her story.
  3. This Is Where It Ends by Nijkamp Marieke.
    this-is-where-it-ends-marieke-nijkamp-feature
    I know what you’re thinking, “Dark much? Trying to scare the children into being home schooled are you?” Why yes, yes I am. I’m kidding. Sadly the topic of schools being gunned down is a real threat each and every day in our world. Let’s face it, drills can only go so far. This book will get inside of student’s minds. It will put them in the “what if.” Plus it makes for a wicked discussion in class don’t you think?
  4. World War Z by Max Brooks.
    Image result for world war z book
    This was actually an assignment for my college English class. See? I’m preparing students for college and the Zombie Apocalypse! It’s coming people. They aren’t making movies for nothing!
  5. Where The Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls.
    Image result for where the red fern grows book cover
    It teaches responsibility! Plus it’s a real tear jerker. I don’t think I could read this aloud in class without crying.
  6. Harry Potter (all 7 books) by J.K. Rowling.
    Harry-Potter
    I think I could pull out a few lessons from this. Lets see…….friendship, sacrifice, family…….magic!
  7. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens.
    Image result for a christmas carol book cover design
    I shamefully have never owned this book.

    You can’t not have this in any given classroom.

  8. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.
    The Night Circus
    This is just a really good book. It has amazing world building that I think even some high schoolers would enjoy.

That’s my list! I wanted to throw in some classics but honestly if I had students I wouldn’t want to waste a single minute boring them out of their wits. I love classics! But I also remember that in high school I couldn’t appreciate them as much as I can now.

I hope everyone has had a great Tuesday! For those of you who participated in this weeks TTT I’d love to see what lists you came up with 🙂 leave a comment down below so I can check out your latest posts and show some love.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I have only read harry potter series here till now, I m planning to read the book thief next. Also, have you read the vampire academy series by richelle mead? I love that series.

    1. I LOVE VAMPIRE ACADEMY! VA got me through the hard times of waiting for the next Twilight book to come out, and then I found myself waiting for the next VA book to come out!! Which was even harder to wait for! Rose could outshine Bella in her sleep. Hah! Get it? Because Adrian dream jumps?
      The Book Thief is a beautiful story. It’ll make you cry, so prepare some nice tea or hot chocolate to warm that torn heart and keep tissues near by ❤

      1. OH MY GOD!! I am so happy, you just made my day, week, month. I finally found someone who read vampire academy. LOVE love that series! Ikr! All of my friends have read twilight and they are like twilight this, twilight that, no none has read VA. And I am like there are better books and series out there. Like really. Rosa (get it? How Dimitri used to call her?) is a strong and confident and inspiring and lovely character who doesn’t get all weak and miserable if her love is not around and wants to do more than just be with her love. And it is more than just a love story, there’s friendship and fighting and creating yourself. It is just awesome! I am totally in love with Adrian Ivashkov! Have you read the bloodlines series? It is a spinoff of VA.It tells the story of Sydney and Adrian and other subsidiary characters. Yes I will read book thief soon. Thanks for the recommendation. Also, I am really sorry this comment was pessimistic, I just needed to let it out. Thanks again.

  2. daleydowning says:

    Classics don’t need to be taught to the average high schooler. They just don’t appreciate them yet, and it’s a waste of time, because it turns them off the subject, as it seems “boring” and “useless.” I really like your idea of focusing on more contemporary, insightful books (classics are, of course, insightful, too, but at the moment we really need 20th century language to reach teenagers with the lessons/messages). Too many schools aren’t recognizing the importance of this. The Book Thief is a perfect choice. So would be classic dystopias like Farenheit 451 and Brave New World, I think.

    1. Exactly! When I was in school I couldn’t appreciate something like A Tale of Two Cities. Now I love it! I quote it all the time. Modern books will definitely appeal to students more because they can relate to the characters or to the plot.
      Yes! The Book Theif! If they don’t have that in schools yet they need to get on the ball.
      I’ve never read A Brave New World. I didn’t realize it was a dystopian!

      1. daleydowning says:

        I’ve never read Brave New World, either – at the time it was first published (the 1920s, I believe?) it was considered extremely controversial, basically because people didn’t want to accept something terrible could happen to the “nice” world they lived in. That view persisted for a long time with a lot of classic dystopians (hence why they aren’t on school reading lists, but ask a group of 50 teenagers, you’ll find several of them will have read at least one story by Ray Bradbury or Asimov).

Leave a Reply

