Did You Know Today Is…..

I mean that yesterday was, National Coloring Book Day??? I had no idea this was an actual thing until I saw it on A Crafty Lady In Combat Boots while I was visiting her blog.Β Then again just now on Twitter. Seriously the timing is exceptionally perfect because I just received this book yesterday from Penguin Random House……

20160803_170605

20160803_170544

So I want to apologize for:
a) the low quality of the photos
b) the fact that the photos were taken on my table cloth 😦

I was in a hurry to take the pictures. I didn’t want to miss out on sharing it with you guys while it was still relevant. I’m a weirdo like that.
I was really excited to receive this book and couldn’t wait for it to come in. I’m a huge fan of art, especially surrealism. (Salvador Dali is my favorite artist.) Coloring has always put me in a good mood and it’s a great way to pass the time. I can sit down and color while watching a movie or a favorite T.V. show πŸ™‚ even while listening to an audio book.

Colored Pencils are my go to. Mostly because I could never keep within the lines when using Crayons. Pencils always have a finer point. Also I don’t have to worry about the wax getting anywhere on me, sometimes it smudges or smears to other parts of the picture. Markers are dangerous! It never fails. I will always wind up with marker on me. On my clothes, on my fingers, on my opposite hand! Plus they can bleed through pages so there’s that……carpet stains too. Yikes. Pencils = safe.

What are you guys doing to celebrate National Coloring Book Day? πŸ™‚

17 Comments Add yours

  1. I agree, colored pencils are the way to go! And sadly, I was not able to celebrate this day by coloring 😦

    1. Yes!
      Aww well I’ll color a page for you πŸ™‚

  2. Rachel McKee says:

    I don’t think these photos are low quality at all! I think they are beautiful and the color is great. Did you take the pencil picture too? It’s very creative.

    1. Aww thank you ☺❀ that’s really nice. It took me forever to figure out how to turn the pictures because they were sideways. I did not take the third picture though. It IS really creative I love that photo.

  3. I totally agree colour pencils are the way to go! I feel bad I couldn’t colour a page and celebrate it. Thanks for sharing.

    1. πŸ™‚ don’t feel bad. I didn’t even know it was a real thing. Also I didn’t get to color much yesterday myself. Maybe half a page. But I’ll color the rest for you today πŸ™‚ that way no ones misses out!

  4. daleydowning says:

    Markers are always my go to, but colored pencils/crayons really upset my carpal tunnel! And your pictures look fine! The tablecloth isn’t half bad as a background, actually! πŸ˜‰

    1. I think I’m still used to the really thick markers so maybe I should try looking for some with a finer point and give those a try πŸ™‚
      Oh 😦 I’m sorry for your carpal tunnel, that’s gotta hurt!
      Thanks! You really think so? I feel a little better about it now πŸ™‚

      1. daleydowning says:

        We have some truly ugly tablecloths in my house – trust me, yours was much nicer to look at! πŸ™‚

      2. Haha! πŸ™‚ oh I have my doubts. Everyone in this small town of mine has this table cloth so it feels very unoriginal. But that did make me laugh πŸ™‚

      3. daleydowning says:

        Mine are from my mother-in-law, who didn’t buy anything new after about 1993 πŸ˜›

      4. Haha! From the in-laws? Oh you definitely can’t replace those. They’ll know lol they have a 6th sense.

      5. daleydowning says:

        Well, luckily (in this case, I mean), they’re both long gone – so it’s just about convincing my husband – though sometimes that’s a tough nut to crack!

      6. hehe yes convincing the other especially about decoration can be very tough. My other half doesn’t care for decorating but he cares for putting in his two cents πŸ™‚ boys. What are we gonna do with them?

  5. Mei-Mei says:

    I joined the adult coloring book trend this year and I love it! That manga book looks awesome.
    I’d never heard of National Coloring Book day, but I did just post a Star Wars coloring book pic on my blog today–my friend and I do one every month.

    1. Woo hoo! Welcome to the club! πŸ˜‰ I never really stopped coloring when I grew up hehe just switched to adult books last year though.
      Checked out the picture and I really like πŸ™‚ going back to check out more.

Leave a Reply

