2-in-1 Book Review Post

Hey guys! So today I decided to review two books in one post. This is gonna be a fairly quick one since both turned out to be DNF’s. I will say this, I tried my darnedest! I’ve kind of been dreading this post because I feel SO bad that I didn’t finish these. I really did try guys. Let’s face it, there are some books we just don’t click with.
So, let’s just get this out of the way and be done with it.

The Iron Cast by Destiny Soria 28818313

Publisher: Amulet Books

Genre: YA Fiction

Pages: 384

“It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed. On stage, hemopaths—whose “afflicted” blood gives them the ability to create illusions through art—Corinne and Ada have been best friends ever since infamous gangster Johnny Dervish recruited them into his circle. By night they perform for Johnny’s crowds, and by day they con Boston’s elite. When a job goes wrong and Ada is imprisoned, she realizes how precarious their position is. After she escapes, two of the Cast Iron’s hires are shot, and Johnny disappears. With the law closing in, Corinne and Ada are forced to hunt for answers, even as betrayal faces them at every turn.”

This book sounded very promising and it got great reviews on Goodreads. I really didn’t get that far into the story (maybe halfway) but what I did read was fantastic! The very beginning of the book opens with an action scene. That part was brilliant. Most books will make you sit through character and world building first before getting into the nitty gritty of the story. So that was refreshing. Learning about the characters just sort of happened as you continued reading. Much like getting to know someone, there’s no back story for us to read on new acquaintances. Learning who they are just happens.
Soria does a great job with the world building here. Her descriptions of Boston and descriptions of the girls as they use their gift is incredible. I could see it in my mind. I could imagine the shock of a hat turning to a rabbit in my hands. I could place myself in the club listening to the Ada and Corrine on stage.
Unfortunately, being one of the first e-books I have ever read, I just couldn’t stay interested. Anytime I would open up this bad boy I would get distracted or I would start day dreaming. To be fair, I don’t think it was the book. I have the worlds HARDEST time getting through e-books. Also my time with the book is running out quick and I’m not sure I’ll get to finish it before it disappears from my library.
Come October I’ll probably actually buy a copy and give it another go, then re-review it. At least then I’ll know once and for all if it was the book or just me.
I’m not going to give this a rating because it just wouldn’t feel right. I still recommend it purely on the premise alone. Hemopaths, Jazz clubs, mobsters? Uhm, yes! So definitely give it a go guys because again, what I read so far was great.

The Love That Split The World by Emily Henry 25467698

Publisher: Razorbill

Genre: YA Fiction, Fantasy

Pages: 396

Natalie’s last summer in her small Kentucky hometown is off to a magical start… until she starts seeing the “wrong things.” They’re just momentary glimpses at first—her front door is red instead of its usual green, there’s a pre-school where the garden store should be. But then her whole town disappears for hours, fading away into rolling hills and grazing buffalo, and Nat knows something isn’t right.
That’s when she gets a visit from the kind but mysterious apparition she calls “Grandmother,” who tells her: “You have three months to save him.” The next night, under the stadium lights of the high school football field, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and it’s as if time just stops and nothing exists. Nothing, except Natalie and Beau.

Where do I start? The book was…..not great. Really not that good either. It was interesting? Ya, it was interesting. Kind of. There was a whole lot going on in this book. It’s hard to tell what genre this even belongs to. The infamous “Love that split the world,” is based on insta-love. Really?? Natalie and Beau met once! One time (which was not fantastic in anyway) and bam! Instant “soul mates.” Who would believe that!?
Also there were a few characters who served no purpose what so ever. Natalie’s therapist for one. There are pages and pages about her psychological theories, and it stunk. Pretty badly. I just feel like there was no need for so much psycho babble and every time it appeared in the book it was like nails on a chalk board. She basically reiterated what Natalie and Beau had already worked out on their own. I honestly  don’t understand what the purpose for Alice was. Why she even needed to be in the book. The main characters were doing a pretty good job on their own.

Matt (Natalie’s ex boyfriend), ya he’s a jerk. He does some pretty sketchy ass (yes I said ass) things to Natalie who just blows it off in the hopes that their friendship can raise from the grave it has so deeply sunken into. I don’t even know what happens to him and honestly I don’t care. It makes it look as though these things are ok and should just be forgotten about if they make you uncomfortable. I’m sorry, harassment is NEVER  ok and should NEVER just be forgotten about. It’s this that made Natalie look weak, like a push over. Someone who will stand there and take crap from someone only to make excuses for them later because the person she knew “might” still be in there somewhere. That would have been believable, I would even forgiven him myself, had he not done it again! So ya total deal breaker there.

BUT, I did enjoy Emily Henry’s writing style. There are Native American aspects to this book and I loved that. I can imagine how much time she must have spent gathering everything she needed for this book. From the different tribes, languages, and especially the folklore. The little stories she incorporated into the main story was amazing. The stories tie into the plot and are actual clues.
Natalie and Megan’s friendship was adorable! It made me wish I had a Megan of my own, a gal pal I can tell all my secrets too. Natalie has always told Megan the truth about Grandmother and Megan, being the awesome person she is, has always believed her. This book could have made it as a great contemporary if there was only more focus.

Needless to say I was pretty disappointed with this book. I had really high hopes when I read the synopsis and saw that gorgeous cover. Don’t get me wrong, the cover fits the book perfectly. The book just, was not good. Would I recommend it? I guess? Only because I believe that everyone should take reviews with a grain of salt and discover for themselves whether they like it or not. I don’t recommend purchasing this new. It’s not really worth the money spent. If I could return this I honestly would because I was so dissatisfied.  Definitely a one out of five, and that’s kind of generous.

                                          7c629b43d19c572bd68e7a74753d341a

 

Leave a Reply

