Ilvermorny Sorting

First of all let me just point out how much I LOVE Hogwarts and Harry Potter! However, seeing as I’m American, I have slim chance of ever receiving my letter (*dreams crushing*). Oh also I’m in my twenties so there’s that.
HogwartscrestWhen I first heard of J.K. Rowlings new Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, I was seriously skeptical. I love Harry Potter,Β I’m talking huge fan. For my anniversary I insisted we go to Universal Studio, just so I could see the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. There was pumpkin juice, Butter bear (oh it was Heaven in a cup), Chocolate Frogs, Magic Wands, and of course Bertie Botts Every Flavored Beans. Money was spent without a care folks, pictures were taken, accents were tried. Huge. Fan.
So what is this Cursed Child business? Harry Potter is over, there was a beginning and an ending and it’s done. Also, what is this Ilvermorny you speak of? An American Wizarding School??? They’re gonna ruin it! They’re going to kill it like they killed Twilight! They’re clearly just trying to make money now……….or so I thought.

I decided I would look into this Ilvermorny business, after a few months of bitterness. So I typed it in, opened up Pottermore, and began reading.

“The great North American school of magic was founded in the seventeenth century. It stands at the highest peak of Mount Greylock, where it is concealed from non-magic gaze by a variety of powerful enchantments, which sometimes manifest in a wreath of misty cloud.”

Of course once you start reading something you can’t just stop willy nilly, so I read on. Until I had finished the story of Ilvermorny’s history. My mind was changed, nay….my heart was changed. Once again J.K. Rowlings writing enraptured me. I barely noticed when I had finished until I realized I was clicking on all the links looking for more. I wanted more, I needed more. I want to take the quiz, I want to be sorted! I’m even hoping I get to be in Pukwudgie!!!! Never mind that they aren’t cute in the slightest. It’s just, William!!!

What I’m trying to say is, if you have doubts about this new school and new story, visit Pottermore first. Read about the history (it’s really not that long) and founding of Ilvermorny before writing it off like I almost did. I have a feeling minds may be swayed πŸ˜‰ I really don’t know why I doubted Rowling. I feel ashamed 😦 her writing really is fantastic and her ability to create worlds has once again astounded me. I’m putting the link down below, just so you guys wont have to go very far. Because you know, opening up another tab can be so daunting when you just want more Potter!

Ilvermorny School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

Β Finally, having just taken the quiz, I am a………Thunderbird!
Thunderbird_House_symbol
“Named by Chadwick Boot after his favourite magical beast, the Thunderbird, a beast that can create storms as it flies. Thunderbird house is sometimes considered to represent the soul of a witch or wizard. It is also said that Thunderbird favours adventurers.

I’m so excited to be sorted into this house. It’s no Pukwudige but I still really like it πŸ™‚ if you haven’t taken your quiz yet, what are you waiting for?! Get yourself sorted and let me know in the comments what your house is πŸ™‚ I’d really like to know and share in your excitement.

As always if you liked this post click the follow button for more fun bookish posts πŸ™‚ now if you would all excuse me, I have a Harry Potter marathon that’s calling my name…..

13 thoughts on “Ilvermorny Sorting

  1. daleydowning says:

    I really like the way that Rowling did what she said she was going to do – if she wrote more about the Harry Potter universe, it would be focusing on other characters, or other aspects of that world, leaving the original story intact. As a writer, I greatly respect that. She has to do what she feels is right for the integrity of her creation, not just with regards to her salary.

    • itsmisselizabeth says:

      Yes! I absolutely agree. And again I’m horrified at how much doubt I had in her. I think it was mostly society and Hollywood not so much Rowling herself that I felt was only in it for the money at this point. I mean she came from such humble beginnings, what was I thinking??
      I love that it has subtle tie ins to Harry Potter but it’s clearly not the same direction. Although already I’m seeing a lot of similarities in the stories.

      • daleydowning says:

        Because people are so inspired by her work, I think Rowling’s really smart to get her creative handprint on anything that is so closely related to her own books. Smart morally and ethically, also business-wise. She’s stayed humble at heart, which I think shows the kind of person she’d be even without all the fame and money.

    • itsmisselizabeth says:

      I actually haven’t read the book yet. It’s still another three days before it releases here in the US. There are supposed to be new characters in this book with references to some old ones πŸ˜‰ it’s going to be fantastic. I hope you get a chance to read it! I have confidence that it will release in India for you.

  2. Gemma says:

    I LOVE this! And although we’re very lucky in the UK to have so much Potter, I’m would looooove to visit the HP world in Florida! Great post πŸ™‚

  3. Melanie Noell Bernard says:

    Ah! I love HP world in Universal Studios! It’s so epic! I wasn’t old enough to drink when I went, but I fell in love with Pumpkin Juice, which is funny because to Americans it just sounds strange! :p Alas, I wish I could buy it in the nearest grocery store now.

    Note: Don’t ever stand in line for Olivander’s with a chocolate frog in your bag on a 90deg+ day. Your choco frog will NOT have a face when you open him. πŸ˜₯

    • itsmisselizabeth says:

      It waas epic! Did you see the show they put on with the different Wizarding schools? That was amazing.
      Aww poor chocolate frog. Never stood a chance against that blazing sun.
      The butter bear I got was non-alcoholic. I can drink, I just sometimes prefer not to. It’s really an in the mood/not in the mood type of thing for me. But it was still very delicious. The pumpkin juice was delicious too! I saved my bottle hehe πŸ™‚
      I hope your frog was still delicious, melted face and all!

      • Melanie Noell Bernard says:

        I caught a short snippet of it, but we were in a rush to ride the ride inside the castle. You never know how long those lines are gonna be.
        Haha! I saved my bottle right away, too, but ended up de-cluttering my space later on. :p Though, it was fun keeping the plastic cups from the Hogs Head. Those are super cool.
        Haha! Melted chocolate still tastes amazing and I prefer Bertie Bott’s every flavor beans. :p

Leave a Reply

