Opposite Books Tag!

Hey guys! Since I started getting more active on this blog I’ve really been wanting to do a Book Tag but have yet to be tagged by another blogger. So I mischievously decided to take matters into my own hands. (heh heh heh)
I found this tag on Dream Land Book Blog while looking for fun tags to do. So thank you very much for the opportunity to do this tag Dream Land!

The idea is to answer questions about opposites. So without further ado I’d like to just get right into it!

  1.  First book in your collection/Last book you bought.
    3636

    Is it just me, or does he look like Dumbledore???

    Pretty sure the oldest book that I have on my shelf is The Giver by Lois Lowry. Funny story, I was a freshman in high school and my then boyfriend was assigned to read this for summer school. He hated books. I generously offered to read it for him, fell in love at first chapter. I then kept the book and have had it ever since. It’s one of my favorite books to date 🙂 p.s. I did not like the movie.

    Newest books! I just recently bought (and have yet to do a book haul post) The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry, A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston and Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard. I’m so excited to read these books! They look beautiful on my shelf, I’m in love.

  2. A cheap book/An expensive book.
    41RtNzOoWqL._AC_UL320_SR198,320_.jpg
    Here in town we have a used book store that I love to visit once a month. The sales clerk and I are basically best pals now. Is it sad that she knows me by name? There I found a great copy (perfect condition) of Johnn Steinbeck‘s The Red Pony for $2.00! It was a steal 😉
    HP5_Cover
    The most expensive book I own is Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. I stood in line for the midnight release and paid extra not only for a special hard copy but a signed copy. It cost me about $40-50 bucks if I remember correctly. Rather it cost my mom who was nice enough to buy me books back then.
  3. A book with a male protagonist/One with a female protagonist.
    Eragon_book_cover
    Had to put a little thought into this because. I decided to go with one of the first books with a male protagonist that I really enjoyed and that is Eragon by Christopher Paolini! I DID actually love the movie and was really sad it didn’t get more credit or even a sequal.
    Cinder_book_cover
    No surprise here I’m gonna go with Cinder from the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer! I love this series so much. I really liked Cinder’s character. She’s very strong, smart and quick and also very dedicated.
  4. A book you read fast/One that took you long to read.
    If I Stay
    If I Stay by Gayle Forman. After watching the movie I had this ginormous urge to buy this book and read it. It was a breeze to get through. Took me a day and a half only because I had to sleep and work.
    COB_cover
    This may come as a shock and disappointment to some but I have to say my longest read was City Of Bones by Cassandra Clare. I just couldn’t get into this darn book! It took me months to read and finally I had to get the audio book just to cross it off my TBR.
  5. Pretty cover/Ugly cover.
    25467698
    The Love That Split The World! This cover is so colorful and vivid. It’s pretty brilliant that the girl on this cover is splitting the night sky into day. I can’t wait to read this.
    515yn9ES2KL
    For ugly cover I’m gonna have to go with the Succubus On Top by Richelle Mead. This was a little disappointing for me as I love love love this author. The Georgina Kincaid  series was great! The plot to each book and the writing were beautifully written. They definitely could have done something more with the covers though.
  6. A national book/An international book.
    41spsB+1ViL
    Blue is for Nightmares by Laurie Faria Stolarz. These books take place here in the States. I feel like these books have long since been forgotten but they’re actually pretty good. If you like books about witches 😉
    Harry-Potter.png
    Harry Potter! Everyone knows these all take place in London, England and these books are loved world wide 😉 because J.K. Rowling is just that good.
  7. A thin book/A thick book.
    The-Pearl-294878
    There was a close tie for this one but I decided to go with John Steinbeck’s, The Pearl at 90 pages. It’s the thinnest book I own!
    Winter
    This was an easy one! Again I look to the Lunar Chronicles’ Winter with a whopping 823 pages. I actually had to invest in the audio book to help me get through it because I wasn’t reading it fast enough for my own excitement.
  8. Fiction book/Non-fiction book.
    The-hobbit-first-edition-dust-jacket-book-cover
    The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. Regardless of what the movie’s have led others to believe this is actually only a singular book, not a trilogy. Tolkien did such a phenomenal job creating a whole new world that everyone has come to love.
    41adKs7mQiL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_
    There is one, and only one book in my house that is Non-Fiction. Recommended to me by a friend in high school and that is I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell by Tucker Max. When I first picked it up I hated it, I thought wow this guy is sick and how is he alive? A few months later I took a second look realizing I judged too harshly and wouldn’t ya know it…..I loved it. It’s funny and gross and ridiculous. A must read.
  9. Very (way too) romantic book/Action book.
    17623975.jpg
    Just One Day by Gayle Forman. Honestly I wasn’t a huge fan of this book and wanted to quit less than half way through it. It’s probably the most “romancy” book I’ve read. Revolving strictly around a love story that takes place in Europe when a young girl is traveling abroad with her best friend for the summer. It wasn’t so much the story I didn’t like per se, it was more the writing? Maybe the character? I didn’t like how obsessed she was over someone she knew for ONE day. Come on now. The whole book just seemed to go by very slowly and was off putting.
    The_covers_of_the_six_Vampire_Academy_books.jpg
    Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead! I LOVED this series. Funnily enough I actually picked up these books because at the time I needed something to read wile I waited for the next Twilight book to come out. Ironically I liked these books so much more than the Twilight series. Then found myself waiting around for the next VA book to come out. There was more action and less lovey dovey scenes. It kept my interest and peaked my excitement with every book. Richelle Mead quickly became one of my top favorite authors.
  10. A book that made you happy/One that made you sad
    b9e6954beb7c1d53f3493fa432a3cbc4

    I actually own this  1945 edition so I chose this picture for the post.

    Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, my number one favorite book and a prized possession. Everything about this book had me cooing over it as though it were a baby cat. It even has a happy ending for both sisters! Can’t tell you how many times I’ve read this.

    bthief
    Without a second thought here I’m gonna go with The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Another one of my all time favs. This is the most tear jerking book I own.I cried like a baby, for everything in the story. For Rudy, for Hans, for Max, Liesel and even her mother! Agh! It was amazing.

Just for funsies I’d like to nominate a few bloggers for this tag.

Illuminated Literation
Booklovebabbles
Hitormissbooks

And that is my first book tag ladies and gentlemen and book worms 😉 let me know in the comments down below how I did. I hope you decide to do this book tag yourself if you haven’t yet. Hope you have as much fun doing this as I did 🙂 please leave a link to your post or a ping back so I can check it out. I’d love to see what lists you come up with.
If you liked this post follow me here on WordPress for more 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “Opposite Books Tag!

  1. journeyofangie says:

    Great post!👍

    I love Harry Potter books too.😸

    And up to this time, I’m still crawling through City of Bones. I’m still on Chapter 14 after MONTHS of trying to finish it, lol.😁

    I’ve been meaning to star reading Cinder but I’m scared of the hype.. One day..🙋

Leave a Reply

