What Are You Reading Wednesdays!

012115_0342_whatareyour1It’s the first week of April! Every time this month rolls around I can’t help but think of the phrase “April showers bring May flowers!” It’s one of my favorite sayings, mostly because it was taught to me as a kid and it’s just so fun to say. If we’re lucky enough here in Cali then we’ll get those showers to which we really really need.

In this first week I decided to pick up City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. I decided to give this series a shot. Mostly because it’s gotten so much hype and good publicity that I wanted to see what I was missing out on. Also I’m reading it as part of my 2016 challenge. I chose this book to fulfill the “A book you previously abandoned,” quota.

I did actually pick this book up a year ago when I bought it, but for some reason after about a third of the way through I set it down. I wasn’t exactly taken with the characters. It could be the story itself or it could just be me! After reading the last book of The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer I fell into a huge fantasy slump. All of a sudden I just didn’t want to read fantasy books for a while. Thus began my contemporary phase ๐Ÿ™‚ so it really hasn’t been such a bad thing at all. I never thought I would read anything but fantasy (which I guess is a little naive) ย but I am grateful for the slump which brought me so many more options for reading.

Currently I’m 112 pages away from the ending of City of Bones. This second time around I’m absolutely loving it. I feel that this is the book that will get me out of my fantasy slump. There are ย quite a few books I have just been itching to read. I can’t wait to finish this book and get started on my next book review.

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. very nice post, please let us know what do you think about the book when you finish it, and if you have any recommendations, that would be great ๐Ÿ™‚
    Please do visit my blog when time permits. Thanks in advance and see you there! https://lanathemother.wordpress.com

    1. itsmisselizabeth says:

      Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚ I will absolutely give some recommendations soon! I’m so glad you asked, I hadn’t even thought of that yet. You have definitely given me a reason to write another post soon ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m very excited.
      I would love to visit your blog!

      1. I’m glad you are going to write another nice post, and I will be more than happy to read it ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Newswire says:

    Love your post<3

    1. itsmisselizabeth says:

      Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

